413: Mailbag Friday: Darren Menditto, Tom Groholski “performing” at Great AdventureJeff Jones & The Blue Ramp from Bill Devlin

Darren Menditto 1988

Darren Menditto Ocean City MD 1988

Photo Bill Devlin

Hey Jason-

I stumbled across your great House of Steam blog yesterday, and probably spent a good hour just looking at a bunch of stuff (I think i initially googled Ken Salerno..an old friend of a friend…turned up some hits for your site). Definitely great to see someone in NJ made an effort to document and publish via the web the skate scene here. Some of the stuff brought back some fond memories. I was part of crew of SJ inbreds who tried to venture out and skate different ramps, etc. on the East Coast, and was always stoked when we’d get to cross paths w/ the likes of Tom G., Murph, Chuck Treece, or get to see and skate w/ some of the truly rippin’ guys from ‘up north’. Funny for example, how i know i skated the barn ramp at least once, but barely can remember being there. I do remember skating Great Adventure w/ Groholski when he invited us to skate w/ him between his ‘performances’ there (remember that? think they called it a ‘skateboard stunt show’ or some sh*t). Anyway, everyone was always cool to us, which we all appreciated.
Anyway, i came across a shot i took of Darren M. (pretty sure it’s him) I took during a few trips we got to take down to OC Maryland, probably like 88′. I just remember that ramp being slick as snot, yet all those guys ripped it without any fear. I thought i scan it and send to you for your archives/sake of posterity, since if i didn’t, it’d would sit in a box probably for another 20 years. Feel free to use or post, no need to credit photo either.

Bill devlin Blue ramp

Bill Devlin Blue Ramp, NJ

I also attached a shot of me at what we always called ‘Jeff Jones’ ramp’, aka the Blue Ramp. All i know is we just showed up there one day, and whoever answered the door was kind enough to let us skate w/ no problems. That ramp still there? Back in those days finding a good skateable ramp in Jersey was like a quest for the Holy Grail sometimes.
Great site, and checked out some of your artwork, awesome stuff.

Bill D

Jason-by-Sophie-for-FB

Thanks Bill!! Great stuff. I think I will try and get together more of these emails and get them out on Fridays…keep em pouring in! (with pics!)

signature-Jason-Oliva

2 thoughts on “413: Mailbag Friday: Darren Menditto, Tom Groholski “performing” at Great AdventureJeff Jones & The Blue Ramp from Bill Devlin

  1. The End

    So yeah, another post.. Blue Ramp…I had one too. Most likely this one, it was the original from Levittown. So anyway, I skated an indoor place, Quakertown?? not sure but there were guys there calling themselves TeamSteam and it was cool. I remember the one night close to closing one guy stripped down to his tighty whiteys and skate barefoot and just ripped the vert ramp. I was like what the fuck. edit as required for cussing.. Shortly after that I moved to SoCal and skated my ass off for another 7 years or so….got married and you know the story. I am back into it now and living in Phoenix AZ. used to skate with Dan Brown and the Harrisburg Keystone Ramp crew and head down to Washington and skate the steel ramp by the golf course. Also skated the Ocean City Steel ramp..got 22 stitches in the chin from that ramp. Grew up in Reading Pa and we owned the Spinning Wheels park, that damn lumpy pool/bowl thing…. I got tons of pics of that too. Wow….52 and looking for a time machine….I’d go back right now. startcombat@yahoo.com feel free to contact me

    Reply
  2. The End

    Oh yeah, Cherry Hill NJ…. Shogo Kubo and Brad Bowman…. Allen Gelfand and the Ollie… Victor, Jamie (RIP), the rich kids…can’t remember their names… So much fun…the keyhole on the end was a blast and the big bowl up front… Ok, one more beverage and I got to get off this forum….

    Reply

Leave a comment