590: Jeff Roenning has built/owned more ramps than you!

Jeff Roenning on one of his Epic Ramps NJ late 80’s

Jeff Roenning has built more personal backyard ramps than anyone I can think of. They were always taller, wider and longer  then anyone’s around as well. I cant tell you how often the alliteration Roenning’s Ramp has been used. Prior to attending the Watchung Hills Regional High School Skate Academy (where we all came together) I was dragged to church on Sundays by my Mother and one day en route I spied one of Jeff Roenning’s Mega Ramps. At the time I was riding Lackland’s – an 8 foot wide ramp along with Rocky Vertone and some other friends. It was in  the woods near to my house (only a 45 minute skate) and I had not met Jeff yet because we attended different Junior High schools.

One Saturday I took the two hour skate journey to Jeff’s – I walked into his backyard unannounced with a friend and just started skating (didnt even ring the bell) that is how it worked back then. Jeff came out and started ripping…my friend and I had not conquered dropping in yet so we did not talk much that afternoon with Jeff on the platform and me starting from the flat but I do recall him asking me “Have you been to the Barn?…

Rocky Vertone, Jason Oliva, Jeff Roenning (Deer in the Headlights) watching Christian Hosoi skating

After that day I went on to ride Roenning’s Ramps (starting with number five) and we have been friends ever since. When I showed up in High School a year or two later I was introduced to Tag, Corn, Weep, The Kanes, The Padulos, The McDowalls, The Pruskowski’s, Taylor, Tom, Murph, Bernie,Darren,Jay Henry, John Ballon, Papo, Jaime,Jeremy, Irene (the NYC crew) and then a further cast of out of State characters(PA,MD,VA,TX,CA,MA,CT,DC..etc etc) plus all those younger then us(and this list continues to grow). Jeff is currently building ramp number eight, a  mini ramp in his backyard built completely with wood salvaged from the Santa Cruz dump…you can’t shake that [En-Jay] DIY spirit it seems. Jeff also has a killer website about skateparks in CA Mostly Roundwall so check it out.

I have attached some photo’s of Jeff’s ramps I will try to add all 7.

Jason Oliva Artist

PS

Alot of people rode Jeff’s ramps back in the day Hosoi, Miller, Roskopp, Groholski to name a few:

Christian Hosoi Jeff Roenning’s Hill Crest Ramp (Circa 1986)

Chris Miller on Roenning’s Ramp- Jeff on Deck circa mid 80’s

King George – The First

Valley View – The Second

Number three!

Need a pic of Number four

Dan Tag hard at work on Number 5 (The first one that had some modern thought to it)

Number 5 underway

Glorious number Five

Mountain Ave ramp – Loads of vert and number 6

The Epic Hill Crest – Winter, Lucky Number Seven

The Epic Hill Crest – Spring

Santa Cruz 2010……Number 8!

One thought on “590: Jeff Roenning has built/owned more ramps than you!

Leave a Reply

