480: Saturday Night Live at The Barn – Circa 1986..Thanks to Mike Vallely

I’m not gonna say much about this video except thanks to Mike Vallely for getting this filmed back in the day and giving it to us for the archive and another thanks to Larry Ransom for his editing and THOS support throughout the years. Another big thanks goes to Dennis who after searching the web for this footage decided to go to the source and clinched it all. The still images are of Mikes early Vert days at The Barn and the song is Revolution Mother “Night Ride” (pretty fitting) If you comment with a time and a name I will create a gallery of screen grabs…I will get the ball rolling with an important one: 1:24 Weep on Deck.

Enjoy the show…The time is now!!

Jason Oliva Artist

Jason

This is great. Mike talks about the first video he was in. “Action East” If I remember correctly, they showed up at The Barn with all this high-end video, lights and sound gear. It was right in the middle of a hot session. I was like, “What the hell is this???”

The guy who owned the company was like, “Can we film a video here?” and I said, “What’s in it for me?” (as if I was going to say No). This was way beyond squeezing 10 bucks out of some squid for “the new layer.” So he flowed me a “No Fun Joe” deck, a t-shirt and some other free shit and I said, “Go for it!” Of course, our power situation was a 300 yard extension cord to the house that kept blowing out. The next contest I entered as….sponsored by Action East.

Let’s see if we can get this classic film posted.
DennisK


Skater by order of appearance:

1st couple stills Mike Vallely

Papo Capillo No Shirt Red Shorts

Dennis Kane Silver helmet after Papo…Big Indy Air later on

Jimmy Kane Yellow helmet white Tee no sleeves

Mike Vallely Yellow helmet layback air

Papo on roller skates?

Matt padulo Red shorts Layback Air/Backside Air

Tom Groholski Black Shirt Inverts/Layback Air

Bernie O’Dowd No Helmet Frontside air/Invert/Layback Air

Who does the big air with the pink helmet?

Loads of peeps on the deck and on the couch too



6 thoughts on “480: Saturday Night Live at The Barn – Circa 1986..Thanks to Mike Vallely

  1. Jeff Roenning

    Holy crap. That footage looks so good and puts me right back there. It’s amazing how small and tight it looks.
    Did any of the Herring footage survive? After the BB banks we went to another vert ramp with Herring and I think Jeff Jones.
    Thanks Jason and Mike V for the footage.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Mike V Is Everywhere. « Mike Vallely

  3. DennisK

    Wow, this is great footage. Much thanks to Mike V for the Action East video cuts and to Jason for getting this posted. I really need to study this (like the Zapruder film). Like Jeff said, brings me right back!

    Reply
  4. Jodi "paisley"

    oh my gosh! this is great made me smile 🙂 I had to share it. Vintage 1986 when skateboarding was still underground and the only cool place to hang out in New Jersey back then. The culture was filled with talent of all sorts.
    I meet Skaters in Colorado who have heard of the infamous “Barn” in NJ and really you had to at least visit it to experience it, It was way grunge before the grunge scene and at times a disco-esk-hippy-punk-rock-rebellion would succumb me when i was there :-). Never once did i skate, i just was a spectator and it was awesome to watch.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

