469: Mike Vallely – Brooklyn Bridge Banks closing till 2014 due to construction

We have all spent a lot of time at this place pre and post off ramp spiked fence….I lived 5 minutes from the Brooklyn Bridge Banks for 12 years and spent almost a year walking through there twice a day on my way over the bridge to a DUMBO art studio I established…..I for one was never able to ollie the highway divider (or any divider for that matter) its hard to believe Mike Vallely was undettered by that devil’s pitchfork of a barrier and conquered it. I will leave anymore to be said about the place to Mike…he says it best.

Thanks to Larry Ransom for this bang up mini documentary and Mike for Mik’ing

Checkout Mike V’s new updated online presence as well.

Jason

4 thoughts on “469: Mike Vallely – Brooklyn Bridge Banks closing till 2014 due to construction

  1. DennisK

    This is great. Mike talks about the first video he was in. “Action East” If I remember correctly, they showed up at The Barn with all this high-end video, lights and sound gear. It was right in the middle of a hot session. I was like, “What the hell is this???”

    They guy who owned the company was like, “Can we film a video here?” and I was like, “What’s in it for me?” (Like I was going to say No). This was way beyond squeezing 10 bucks out of some squid for “the new layer.” So he flowed me a “No Fun Joe” deck, a t-shirt and some other free shit and I was like, “Go for it!” Of course, our power situation was a 300 yard extension cord to the house and kept it blowing out. The next contest I entered as sponsored by Action East.

    Let’s see if we can get this classic film posted up in here.
    DennisK

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Mike V Is Everywhere. « Mike Vallely

Leave a Reply

