436: Harry Jumonji, NJ Shore contest back in the day.

harry jumongi frontside roll in

Harry Jumongi Frontside roll in NJ Shore Contest

Photo Deitz Bruthas!

Avatar Jason Oliva

Page 350(closer to 400 in actuality) of this endless book is now written. We have had a lot of ups and downs lately and I hope everyone is doing ok.

I like the round numbers and with the assumption that this is page 350 I figured it was time to let this Black n White gem of HJ loose on the interwebs. Bernie O’Dowd should know the details (He was skating in the contest) all I know was this was at a NJ Shore contest photographed by Ken or Steve Deitz. Also Jeff Jones was there.

Anyone want to add any grammar(sorry just read Summerland by Chabon) to this entry about Harry feel free to email me or comment it and I will cut and paste….(Irene, Derek, Dennis…Jay?)

signature-Jason-Oliva

4 thoughts on “436: Harry Jumonji, NJ Shore contest back in the day.

  1. Jay Henry

    Don’t have time to be your 3rd grade English teacher right now, but I just got back from RVA last night, and I am once again in the possession of all my old pics (DeJa Vu) – I did have a chance to skate yesterday on Al Schaub’s 6 foot wide 4 foot tall quater pipe, and believe it on not I skated that thing for about an hour and a half under a blazing 95 degree, humid, sunny Richmond sky. IT WAS AWESOME! – more photos to come…

    PS – this is a really cool pic of harry…

    Reply
  2. DaveP

    Was that Silver Apple Skate Surf Shop near Seaside Heights? Matt and I were there for a contest in the mid-80’s. That was a weird blue ramp. No coping and the platforms where you dropped in were not flat. I think Matt took 1st place in his division. He must have been in the like 14 and under or something like that. (Younger siblings were forced to be better skaters since they always sessioned with the big boys.) He won this sweet light gray Lance Mountain Future Primitive Deck. I remember taking a roll of color film that day but have no idea where it is. Ugh.

    Reply
  3. Sayaka

    I’m really eyjinong the theme/design of your blog. Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility problems? A couple of my blog readers have complained about my website not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Opera. Do you have any suggestions to help fix this problem?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

