388: Calling all 80’s and early 90’s Skate ‘Zines

fish-eye-todd-laffler

Fish*Eye Issue 1 Vallely cover by Todd Laffler

Jason Oliva

‘Zines rule I happen to have a copy of this gem (chock-full of East Coast/Shut/Cheapskate greatness) I also have a Lapper or two (thanks to a generous donation from Singapore of all places..thanks again!)

Anyway I dug making cards/stickers/Photo annuals back in the day. I know the hard work peeps put into their ‘zines. SteamZine Made by Charno and Tag was killer although short-lived (2 issues) I guess The House of Steam really is a really huge ‘Zine as well. So I figured since everyone digs dusting off their photo albums they would dig sending in some ‘Zine media for the archive. I received this issue of Fish*Eye and was stoked, hopefully peeps will email me some cool covers and content.

Never know until you try, so here is a list of some old school ‘Zines if you are out there and are the creator of one of these or if you have a copy….fire up the scanner and send us some love.

email jasonoliva@gmail.com and put zine in the  subject.

 

Some Skate ‘Zines circa 1988 I would like to add to the archive:

SKATER OF FORTUNESAN JOSE, CA

BOARDERLINEHB,CA

RANSOM NOTE- EL PASO, TX

BONMEALEDINA,MN

SKATE THREAT-LANDCASTER, PA

THE DAILY GRIND- LA,CA

THE PAGEALAMAGORDO, NM

SKATE SCENE- SAN JOSE, CA

GEEK ATTACKNANUET, NY

GULF COAST SKATEFT. WALTON BEACH, FL

SKATE & MATE- SAN DIEGO, CA

BLASTALTA LOMA, CA

TIGHT TRANSITIONSST. ARCADIA, CA

V.S.S.R.ARCATA,CA

SLAMMORAGA,CA

VERTICLE URGEBERKLEY, CA

PAD ROTMATHEWS, NC

PREPARATION SPALISTINE, TX

SKATEVISALIA, CA

WALL SKATE JOURNALLAFEYETTE, CA

SLIMEBOAT- LAFEYETTE, IN

ASSUMED CONTROLMOORPARK, CA

KILLER DORK SESSIONGLENDALE, MD

SNOB CLUBFRANKLIN LAKES, NJ

408 SKATE MAGSAN JOSE, CA

CHOASJERONE, ID

RIP THE LIPBLOOMINGTON, MN

FLOWHOPKINS, MN

MR CLEAN SHRED SHEETLYNCHBURG, VA

STUFF FOUR- FLINT, MI

LAPPER MAGAZINE- FALLS CHURCH, VA

URBAN RAGECARLISE, PA

HEMPLINCOLN, NE

GRINDING TIMESW.P.B., FL

ROLL IN SCOTTSDALE, AZ

100% FUNIRVINE, CA

BOW TO NO MANSCOTTSDALE, AZ

GROWING FEARSOCEAN SPRINGS, MS

SPUNKNEWARK, DE

UNZINECOLUMBUS, OHIO

THIS IS REALITYUNITY, ME

SKATE CONFUSIONSTAMFORD, CT

GUIDE TO INSANITYNEWCUMBERLAND, PA

CONTORTBOSTON, MA

LAP YOUR TEETH- IBERIA, LA

BISCUITSPENSACOLA, FL

S.H.I.T.DALLAS, TX

GUT FEELINSANTA BARBARA, CA

NAUGHTY NOMADSMONTECITO, CA

SCHMEGSAUGAS, CA

EDGERHARRISBURG, PA

SHRED OF DIGNITYSAN FRAN, CA

BURNT CEREALBATTLE CREEK, MI

SKATE OR BE BOARDWINCHESTED, VA

COPING ASSAULTGREEN BAY, IL

MAMMOTHALEXANDRIA, VA

FULL WILSONWENDAL, NC

LAYBACK- FAIRFAX, VA

THE HARSH REALMDENTOWN, TX

FREAK ACCIDENTBAKERSFIELD, CA

G-TURN- SAN MARCOS, CA

BELLY BONE- NEWARD, DE

SEEKIN- CAMPBELL, CA

 

If you have any others that you own, know of or created send me an email or leave the info in the comments section. Sorry if my research skillzzz did not turn up your Zine!

Thanks in advance,

signature-Jason-Oliva

7 thoughts on “388: Calling all 80’s and early 90’s Skate ‘Zines

  1. Taylor

    Wez Lundry from AZ (originally from WA) published the popular Pool Dust ‘zine.
    Also, Tod Swank has always been a supporter of ‘zine publishing. (I’ll look to see what I have laying around the garage.)

    Reply
  2. john egertson

    Jason,

    I got aquainted with Bruce Adams who did Lapper when I was working on the VA Ramps articles. I used to see them occasionally. If you have those scanned, can you email ’em to me?

    John Egertson

    Reply
  3. Pingback: 570: Episode 006 THOS TV- Todd Laffler 1988 [En-Jay] « The House of Steam

  4. shaggy

    I have !n old issue of geek attack 88 and theres a picture of me doing a boneless over a board. Hit me up I can make a copey 4 you guys. I was down with killer dork session and choke on chowder. Still skating never stopped for anyone or anything. Shaggy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

