266: Mrs. Kane avert your eyes at these Padulo brothers thumb their noses at the “Helmet Law” Ahhh youthful rebellion….The Barn 1986

Jason-

Scanned in a few more photo’s this morning. These are of Matt and me at The Barn. I’m sure Mrs. Kane will cringe at our lack of helmets. Judging by Matt’s soaked shirt I’m guessing these shots were taken in the summer so it must have been really hot in there. These shots have to be from 1985 or 1986 because the old metal angle iron coping had been replaced for pool coping. I remember what a big change that was. The concrete coping really popped you out on airs and made for great lip tricks. Jimmy and Dennis could really grind on their home turf. A true sight to behold. I can still hear the sounds of the metal trucks scraping along the edge. Great stuff. The House Of Steam!

Dave Padulo Barn 1986

Dave Padulo Backside air The Barn NJ 1986

Dave Padulo Barn 1986

Dave Padulo Inver air The Barn NJ 1986

Matt Padulo The Barn 1986

Matt Padulo Backside air The Barn NJ 1986

Matt Padulo The Barn 1986

Matt Padulo Invert air The Barn NJ 1986

Jason Oliva The House of Steam

I would say 86 on these photographs because the coping came off of my families pool (Thank you Mom and Dad) around then. That coping was really thick like the business end of a baseball bat…and slick with white pool coping painting. Really unique stuff for a ramp at the time. I remember my Grandfather was at our house when Tag and Co. came by to pick the stuff up(don’t recall why I wasn’t there). Dan thought the way my Grandfather said “pool coping” in an Italian kinda way was funny. I listened to Dan call it poooool Cohhh ping for ages. Total Tag.

As for the helmet less Padulo Bruthas…..Its a good thing Mrs. Kane did not enforce her Helmet Law with a monetary fine, if she had, the 25 years of compounded interest on these two unpaid fines would be staggering by now!!

Nice One!!

signature-jpeg.JPG
4 thoughts on “266: Mrs. Kane avert your eyes at these Padulo brothers thumb their noses at the “Helmet Law” Ahhh youthful rebellion….The Barn 1986

  1. DennisK

    Nice shots. Warms the heart every time I see the old place. That was some fine stone we had on there (thanks again J.). However, the last shot was the nice metal pipe on the far wall. That was fun too.

    Reply
  2. jasonoliva Post author

    KLAAANK.. I think that was the sound the pipe made when people did anything on that wall. Barn sounds pop into my head so often it can be worrying.

    Good shots of the “When Stickmen get Rad” murals as well.

    Reply
  3. jake egolf, dehls inc.

    yes, my mom was paranoid about pads etc too…we thought no one would get hurt ! until someone broke a leg one afternoon. Oh and vinnies compound arm fracture at Reading skate park.(crunch) Anyone there that day ? raf the park manager was not helpful, luckily a skaters parents who drove an orange vw bus took us to the hospital.

    Reply
  4. jasonoliva Post author

    I dislocated my left shoulder in 1987 skating on a backyard ramp. 21 years later and it still hurts, everyday all day. Who knew I needed shoulder pads that day instead of a helmet. My helmet turned out to be a sweat collector and a place for pasting stickers, still I would never skate without it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

