171: Jedi Frank Marley Cheap Skates PA 1991…May the Jah be with you!

Jedi Frank Marley Cheap Skates PA 1991 The house of steam

Frank Marley 1991 Cheap Skates Sean Miller (sleeping on the flat) And Darren Menditto (sitting) circa 91′

Hey!

Names jedi(Frank). I live in PA right outside Philly. About 2 miles from where the old Cheapskates skate park was located. (now a paintball shooting park)
Started skating in 83′. Nothing fancy those first few years.

Wasn’t till 87′ when some of us built a mini half in the woods by my house.
That first year I learned the basics. But we were very limited with the size of the ramp and weather.

Then comes the “Long Cold Winter” of 88′ Twisted Evil

Cheapskates.

The owner of Cheapskates was offering free skate time to those who helped with the construction of the ramps.
I was the only one from our group the took Rob up on that offer.

That mini was huge compared to what I was skating just months earlier.
And the vert……. Shocked

Anyway. With one moth of free skating and a lot of courage later I conquered both. Very Happy

I was on my way to being considered a ‘Local’. For the first 2 years, Monday threw Thursday 4PM till closing. (Friday thru Sunday was always packed).

Great times and met some great people there.

In 90′ I was off to collage. (Penn State)
For the next 5 years (graduating collage in 4 years is like leaving a party a 10:30) my board was my mode of transportation to a from class. And a means of exploring the area.
Some great spots to skate at State Collage PA. Shame the weather is poor most of the year.

95′ I graduate with a degree in one hand and my board in the other.

From then till now I took over the family business, got married and started a family.

And after 24 years…….Still skating. Cool

Nice one Frank!!! Send more pics!!

Cheap Skates has changed so much through its existence . Here is a pic from about 3 years ago from Derek Rinaldi. (If Vert Ramps where weeds this place got sprayed…jason) Although this is probably preferable to the current paint ball park there.

CheapSkates circa 2004 Rinaldi The House of steam jason oliva

Sean Miller Mural Cheap Skates PA The house of steam jason oliva

Mural of Seam Miller CheapSkates PA… too cool!

Thanks Frank Marley and Derek Rinaldi

Send more Cheap Skates pics… and anyone who has a Long Winter sticker…scan it, photograph it, send me the car bumper you stuck it to! That thing has become a grail quest around here.

signature-jpeg.JPG

YouTubeSkate (Videos)

JasonOliva.com

Forums

Subscribe

MySpace

East Coast Pride by Tom Groholski

Skateboardings Golden Age

Remember The House of Steam is looking for Sponsorship, Submissions and Suggestions!!! Send all to jasonoliva@gmail.com

12 thoughts on “171: Jedi Frank Marley Cheap Skates PA 1991…May the Jah be with you!

  1. Frank

    Look at that pic!

    Vert ramp….Gone. Mini ramp and pool combo….Gone!!

    Even the little 2′ mini-mini that was under the vert ramps deck is gone.

    Reply
  2. Frank

    Are you are referring about the wall leading up the stairway to the balcony area??

    If so I have no idea.

    Would be one cool piece of skate history to have.

    Reply
  3. tim brogan

    never forget cheapskates. just bought a board. last touched 1991 before i went to colllege. too bad i threw away my texas pads 2 yrs ago when i moved.

    Reply
  4. Rich

    I used to skate there in the late 80’s, early 90’s. I met Neil Blender, those were the days of skateboarding. I grew up in Hatfield, and that place was the only place to go

    Reply
  5. Justin

    Awesome write up! I’m much younger than you guys are but still old enough to remember the vert/bowl/mini setup they had back in the old days. i still have my cheap skates membership I.D. card from 1998. I miss this place and would love to see more ‘vintage’ pictures!

    Reply
  6. Scott Arnebold

    I miss cheap skates, i use to skate the vert when i was just a little kid… What ever happened to the owner rob? Someone mentioned that wall too. I remember Sean Miller and Tom Boyle made me sign it. The vert sessions back then were so much fun.

    Cheers,
    Scott

    Reply
  7. Josh

    Wow. I remember going to cheapskates when I was in 4th grade back in 88!!! One of the most significant days in my love. My dad forced me to drop into the big ramp!!! I was being a major p*ssy and my dad bribed me with a whole new setup if I would drop in twice. I said no, it wasn’t worth it to me aka I was scared as sh*t. Even some of the other skaters were yelling at my dad to leave me alone!!! He then asked me if I knew what it meant to be called a p*ssy. I said yes and he said “you’re a p*ssy if you don’t do this.” Well. His motivation tactics worked and I went and dropped in perfectly fine and felt like the king of the world. Everyone clapped and I was never a little bitch again. My dad brought it up about 5 years ago and apologized calling it his worst parenting moment ever. I quickly responded it was his greatest!!!! Thanks cheapskates!!! Good memories. Would love to see more pics of the old white spine ramp.

    Reply
  8. bill matthews

    I loved this place ..it was my home in 88-89. I was there 5-6 times a week after school. then in 89 moved to FL what a crappy sk8 place…but did hit CS in 94 when I came home for a visit…I miss my youth.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

