122: Bryan Kienlen of The Bouncing Souls checks in with The House of Steam

I grew up in Basking Ridge, watching Jay Henry, Greg Colescott and Tom Groholski
skate Jay’s ramp, the Barn and the GirlRamp(Purdy’s house). I was just a
grom hanging out with my bud Wig. We’d skate the ditch, then hit the Barn
and the Girly ramp, where we learned a lot. I remember Weepy (r.i.p.)very
well too. Although I was always intimidated as a grom, the Kanes and all
the guys that skated the Barn were cool to us. I almost broke my wrist
learning to drop in at the barn, being cheered on the the older guys. I
eventually got better over the years. I’ve included a picture of my
backyard ramp, (built entirely on stolen wood ha ha). Here is a pic of me
and my pal Sean learning at the Barn. (I’m the one standing on the
platform, Sean’s working on the frontside) The other is me chucking an Indy
air at the Girl Ramp. (Dig the old Dogtown deck) I wish I had more pics
to share, but it’s rad that you guys have a site, Wig turned me on to it.
I’ve lost touch with Jay Henry, but am newly in touch with Greg Colescott if
you guys remember who he was. He was a kid who moved from Huntington to
Basking Ridge and skated Jay’s house all the time in the mid eighties. I
also keep tabs on the Raging Lamos/Stevie D. I went on to start a band,
we’re called The Bouncing Souls and are still at it, making lots of records
and touring all the time. Thanks a lot!
Bryan

jason oliva the house of steam Bryan Kienlen the bouncing souls

Bryan Kienlen The bouncing SOuls jason oliva the house of steam

Bryan Kienlen The bouncing SOuls backyard ramp jason oliva the house of steam

Thanks Bryan!!

The first time I saw The Bouncing Souls I was standing in a driveway and they were in a garage it was near Rutgers (i think) and a handful of peeps got together to hear them play one Saturday afternoon. They did a kick ass cover of FEAR’s I dont care about you. Well they have moved on to some lofty heights since those days in the late 80’s I guess its all NJ music history now. Head over to their website and buy all their T’s and records…

SO SAYS=> The House of Steam !!!!

The Bouncing Souls Myspace page
jason oliva

subscribe to The House of SteamVideo page for The House of SteamForums for The House of Steam jason oliva

Remember The House of Steam is looking for Sponsorship, Submissions and Suggestions!!! Send all to jasonoliva@gmail.com

signature-jpeg.JPG


photo-annual-cover.JPG

CLICK HERE FOR The TEAM STEAM 1987 PHOTO ANNUAL.
Take the time to sign the map or add a skate spot to it.

2 thoughts on “122: Bryan Kienlen of The Bouncing Souls checks in with The House of Steam

  1. Taylor

    Very cool. I saw Bryan in AZ not so long ago. I remember see the bouncing souls at some kid’s (I can’t remember his name – but he had a hot mom) birthday party in Bedminster. [Preston Maighetter always used to talk about this guy whenever I would see him.]

    It’s cool to have a spot where people from the past can come and check in from time to time.

    Reply
  2. John Carr

    I grew up in Basking Ridge in the 80’s and met Bryan through my brother Jim. I met Greg Colescott at Ridge High – he was a senior while i was a freshman – and got turned onto hardcore. I rode BMX and remember going to the Barn and Jay Henry’s house and watching those guys skate a few times. Me & my punker friends went to every NJ & NYC hardcore show we could and saw everyone from Bad Brains & Black Flag to the DK’s & Butthole Surfers as well as classic NJ bands like AOD, Bedlam (long live Buy Our Records), Pleased Youth, Sand in the Face, and Bodies in Panic. Favorite venues were the Showplace in Dover, City Gardens in Trenton and CBGB’s in NYC. Great times….
    I ran into Bryan in NYC in the late 90’s at the record company I was working at. Peace brothers…
    John Carr
    yopeace.org

    Reply

Leave a Reply

