66: Christian Hosoi at The Barn? Dennis Kane sets the record straight!!

hosoi-7-foot-bside-air-over-dave-hacket-1986-at-the-barn-wordpress.jpg

Christian Hosoi 7 foot Back side air over Dave Hackett The Barn NJ 1985

The night Christian Hosoi and Dave Hackett came to the Barn.

On the back of this photo it reads “Hosoi and Hackett at the Barn ’85” “7 ft Air”. Over Hackett. I trust this is accurate. On the Deck from L to R is Me (Dennis Kane), a guy from NYC named Pepe (he was Peruvian), Tag(Dan Tag), Ben(Cornish), Murf(Jim), and Rocky Jr(Rocky Vertone). I bet the other Deck was full of the usual boys too. One thing about the Barn was, you never know who will show up. One day I went to work and I missed Chris Miller. Evan Feen (infamous Barfoot Snow Boarder) and Lee “Rats Skates” (OverKill drummer) were regulars. On this day it was Hosoi and Hackett. I think Tom(Groholski) brought them by. I think Steve Olson was with them and he hung around and we took him to the Ditch. NJ State Police showed up and chased us out. Olson looked too shady, I guess. Anyway, imagine looking out the window and seeing this crew. Then in mid session, my mom cames out and yells at them for not wearing head gear. She was the law!

Dennis Kane

Well there you have it true believers straight from the man himself. This was a weekday school night session. I remember talking to Rock and Ben the next day (I was a High School Freshman) and I refused to believe what they told me. I was gutted I missed it.

The morning after this session at the Barn Hosoi and Hackett headed to NYC to film with The Bones Brigade. (The Barn was a 30 minute speeders drive to Manhatten)

Thanks Dennis,

Nice one!!
davehackett.gif

Hackett in the Future Primitive Video… I knew I could find it!!

signature-jpeg.JPG

13 thoughts on “66: Christian Hosoi at The Barn? Dennis Kane sets the record straight!!

  1. jasonoliva Post author

    Talked to Dennis today via email he was saying Ben(green helmet and t shirt) is Six feet tall and he is looking straight up! So seven feet or not Hosoi was flowin. With the beams sticking out in front of the coping and over the flat bottom at the Barn its like doing a backflip in a phone booth.
    Maaan I wish I was there that night.

    Thanks again Dennis

    jason oliva

    Reply
  2. Jon VanderMey

    Hey, Hackett was stoked to hear this session brought up…he definitely remembered it. I forwarded this pic to him. I’ll post his reply when I get it.

    Reply
  3. jasonoliva Post author

    Hey Jon

    Email it to me and get him to flow us a pic and Ill make a post of it. We want to hear about the NYC filming and that fricken huge acid drop he did off a UPS sized truck!

    jason oliva

    Reply
  4. Jon VanderMey

    Well, happy Thanksgiving everybody! Got a message from Hackett. I had sent him a copy of the Hosoi picture from the Barn. Here’s the cut-n-paste…

    YEAH! ThANKS FOR THE SHOT MAN- I WISH I COULD SEE ME IN THAT SHOT…OH WELL…I DO REMEMBER THAT WAS A HEAVY SESSION!

    HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

    I responded and asked about that acid drop. We’ll see whether he remembers. jvm

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Christian Hosoi drops in on Team Steam in New Jersey « The House of Steam

  6. PVO Paul van Orden

    I remember this day well. I was there with I think Bob Losito or JT Murphy. I never saw anyone go as high in the bard as Hosoi did that day. I saw him in Portland Oregon this weekend and mentioned recalling that session in the Barn. He remembered it as well.

    PVO

    Reply
  7. jasonoliva Post author

    Thats too cool Paul!!

    Send him the link and get him to drop us a comment. This picture is soooo sick. I am glad you witnessed it. The Barn was not some big trannyied ramp, its crazy to think some one going so all out on it.

    Reply
  8. DennisK

    …”The Barn was not some big trannyied ramp,”…

    Nope, just smooth and fast!

    And I must agree with PVO, “I never saw anyone go as high”.

    Reply
  9. Pingback: 34: Christian Hosoi drops in on Team Steam in New Jersey « The House of Steam

Leave a Reply

